Enlightment


Looking to be enlightened; want there to be some magical shift in the cosmos to grant me an amazing change that will both inspire and move me to action.
Don’t think that today was uneventful, though. It wasn’t. I managed to work on some research for the accident because I want to win. I also did some laundry, despite feeling that I need to upgrade to dryer (maybe?).

Aside: I remember how ashamed I was when I made mention to a very bitchy former boss that I still hung my laundry out on a line. I’ll never forget the look of sheer disdain that I would choose such an archaic way of drying laundry. You would’ve sworn by the look on her face that I had done something wrong.

Thankfully, that was a long time ago and I have since been Enlightened. I still think that there is a certain beauty to doing things the old fashioned way. The smell of the sheets, the delicate balance of hanging each garment on the line. A romance to it, if you will. That’s why I prefer it.

While I did the laundry, Carlos’ daughter and I talked. Or rather, I talked about my worldly advice on the topic of being a teenager and boys. It seems as though she has a lot more to tell me but, given our history, is afraid to. Maybe she’ll grow to truly trust me and not keep on testing me like she does. Sometimes I swear that girl is fooling everyone. I guess I’ll have to keep on repeating to myself (like a mantra): Be Patient, Be Patient, Be Patient. Lord knows, Sara’s a tough nut to crack.

The funny part is that this is probably the payback for all the rotten stuff I pulled on my mom. I guess my mom was right. Damn, life truly is a cyclical. Joke’s on me.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, Doodle Bug, Look Into My Crystal Ball, Things That Make Me Go Hmmm..., Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enlightment

  1. Shane says:

    I co-maintain a site called mandala at:
    http://mandalathangka.blogspot.com

    Thought you may find some of it useful in your pursuit of enlightenment 🙂

  2. Shane says:

    Thanks for the poem, Mema 🙂

Leave a Reply

