MoMA Visit

“If this be madness, yet there is method in it.” ~ Shakespeare

What do you want from me…blood??? I’m trying to keep up with the bloggy world, but I have been soooo busy it’s sick. Mostly personal stuff is getting in the way of a free moment to myself. I’m planning some major changes in my life which require my utmost attention. But I’m not telling what they are..haha, you fools!!!

On to the Museum:
But I do want to relate my wonderful museum experience on October 9th. The Museum of Modern Art has re-opened in NYC, so I decided to take a peek. Here’s what I found:

First of all, I love the layout of the place. It is a haven of self-discovery and it’s free-flowing architecture allows you to move from room to room barely noticing that you’ve covered so much area. I mean each room is the lead-in to the next. If you’re not careful, you can get lost (as I learned very quickly after being separated from my party at least three times). I had one of the security guards laughing at me because first Carlos got lost, then Sara, then me. It was too funny. The lobby is spacious and majestic and a great meeting point (should you happen to get lost). And yeah, there are many strange sculptures and paintings and things. Some were beyond BEYOND–like really out there. Some were intellectual and some were confusing like, huh?!

  • Like a corner filled with lit light bulbs. Huh?
  • Or a series of panels talking about “The Seasons” with some Latin writing and Spanish writing amid splashes of color that didn’t make sense. Huh?
  • Or a room dedicated to a giant golden cube made of gold leaf on marble. Huh?
  • Or a collage of various body parts of models cut out from magazines with “blood” painted onto the pieces, coming out of eyes, noses, ears, etc. I guess the artist hates models. Again, HUH???But the highlights were:

    1) A sculpture of these naked parents standing side-by-side to their naked children. The artist made them all the same size, making a comment about evolution and societal changes. Parents are equal to the children; children are equal to their parents. Also, the children seem physically wider than the parents so I’m not sure what that’s about. Maybe a commentary on the obesity issue? I dunno. Some of this commentary is pure conjecture.

    2) A dark room with a film playing of men standing upright. It was really fascinating because the artist seems to be challenging the viewer. Who’s looking at whom? And all of the men are about the same height but who do you gravitate to first? It shows our biases. Why did we gravitate to one over the other? And there seemed to be just one man who was moving. Most just stood there motionless or shifted their weight when they got tired of standing in one place. But this Eastern-looking guy was the only one who kept moving his hands; folding them, holding his hands together. Not sure what that meant either.

    3) Absence of Memory by Salvador Dali. My fave and it follows me everywhere. Although it was crowded, it was good to see how small it really was. Even though the skeptic in me feels that these weren’t the actual works of these artists. Only copies. The reason I think this? Everyone could get really close and I heard that a person’s breath could actually damage the paint. None are covered or anything, leaving me to believe that they aren’t the originals. How can you show the same paintings around the globe if not on a tour? I dunno for sure. I just felt that way, even though it still was fascinating to me.

    4) There is this great artist: William Kentridge. I saw his private show out in Washington DC one year and I found that he is the most interesting artist…He works in black and white sketches with lots movement and a sudden bit of color for contrast or shock value. His commentaries are generally about war or world orders but it’s his presentation that’s wonderful. He plays sad, slow violin and bass music over his sketches and then films each sketch to make small movies. This guy is phenomenal just by the quantity of sketches he creates. The film playing was about guilt and regret. Very moving.

    5) An artist who films his creations which are giant performance pieces / science projects. He uses the laws of physics and chemistry to create this elaborate maze. This was pure joy! I wish science teachers taught science like this…maybe I would’ve paid more attention…

Well, there you have it. If you’ve never been to MoMa, you should go. If not for any other reason than to see an alternate point-of-view. You do have to go in with an open mind, though. I spoke with someone recently about it and they said that they didn’t like modern art. When I asked them if they’d gone to see it, they said ‘no’. ‘Then how would you know?’ I asked. ‘I know,’ they replied. Well, I guess it’s true what they say: Ignorance is bliss. I’d rather take a look at it myself then formulate a judgement. I guess I’m just crazy that way…

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, That's All Folks..., Things That Make Me Go Hmmm.... Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MoMA Visit

  1. JulieWinters says:

    I think you are the coolest blogger in the history of bloggonia!!! And, that’s a direct quote. Check out my blog updates if and when you get a chance, until then, laterz:)

  2. Your Blog. It’s nice . This may be of interest to you to stop football betting tips There’s lots of information about football betting tips

  3. JulieWinters says:

    You are the #1 Goddess Queen of the Universe (of course!!!) I saw the pirate joke in your profile and I may make you walk the plank me mattie!!! Let’s leave you with these 50 cent jokes. What do whales spread on their toast? Jellyfish. What kind of guitars do whales play? Eel-lectric guitars. And finally… What do you say to a tent with a split personality?
    You’re two tents…get it?…split…two…two tents? Thank you for tht lovely round of indifference. 😛 -Laterz

Leave a Reply

