…And the Award goes to…

Announcer – The Award for Best Supporting Pooch in Lisa’s Hour of Need (ok it was more like 1o minutes) goes to…Chico! Way to go!

*Cue clip on the overhead screen of Chico laying calmly on the kitchen floor*

Announcer – Chico was unable to be here so accepting the award on Chico’s behalf is his owner, “Mema”!

Mema – “Thank you, thank all of you. Chico would so love to be here with all of you, unfortunately he had other engagements. Well, what can I say about the best dog in the world? When the Super’s wife said that she was coming over to pickup my rent check, I was secretly hoping the dogs would behave. “Lady” was easy, staying behind a closed bedroom door. Now, I knew that I had received a verbal warning before about keeping the dogs quiet and maintaining silent pets. That’s when “Bear” decided–in all of his wisdom–to bark incessantly from the bathroom, while the Super’s wife stood in the hall nonchalantly, pretending to be interested in speaking with me about random topics. If it weren’t for this lovely dog laying down comfortably on the floor while “the mole” scoured and scrutinized my kitchen, in an effort to witness the dogs misbehaving firsthand, I don’t know what I would have done. I would like to give a special thanks to, Sara whose effort, at responding to Bear (still in the bathroom) and calming him down, was invaluable. I would also like to give a sincere thanks to “My Own Patience” for allowing me to keep my cool in an otherwise pressure-cooked situation. I still managed with “My Own Patient’s” help, to maintain my composure while the Super’s wife had the nerve to stand in the hallway a few minutes after the awkward kitchen conversation just to make sure her suspicions–that I was keeping the dogs quiet–were correct. So thanks, “My own Patience”! And thanks to all of the Chico fans out there who believed in him when no one else would. Finally, I’d like to thank my wonderful dog for without which, this award would never be possible. I know that if Chico were here he would say…”

*Orchestra begins to play*

Mema – Wait! Wait! I still have a few more seconds…

*Audience laughs politely*

Mema – “I’m sure Chico would like to thank Mighty Dog and Camilla canned dog food. Thank you and Good Night!”

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Let's Just Invite The Family, That's All Folks.... Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …And the Award goes to…

  1. nprosario says:

    I’m so proud of you! Go girl! Please take a moment to put a pic of chico up here on the blog. You made me laugh! I was going to call but I decided to let you read all my wonderous words first thing in the morning. You know how it is girl, I know a comment from me is like gold droplets in your coffee. 🙂

  2. Missy Wayne says:

    Mema, You know why I say, God bless Chico and may you enjoy his adorable cuteness and goodness. Kudos! Missy Wayne.

Leave a Reply

