Thanksgiving: A Messy Blessing

After waking up way past the proper time for planning a feast that would shame the gods, and after freaking out over the conundrum of which item to cook first (hmm…turkey or ham) in my smaller-than-an-average oven, AND after contuniously muttering, ‘the horror, the horror’ to myself before I could gather my thoughts, began the day we euphemistically title: Thansgiving.
Only I wasn’t very thankful that I was in the middle of a verbal whirlwind: one of Carlos’ timeless chatterbox banters that can go on for days. DAYS, people. The noise could shatter any semblance of reality. And no, I AM NOT EXAGGERATING…
Throw in visits from friends, Carlos’ niece, Carlos’ daughter and son, and my grandmother–which only added to the insane drama that only true Puerto Ricans can appreciate–and mix. Stir. Boil. Mmm, mmm…Now that’s what I call cookin’!

But now that I can calmly gather my thoughts on the evening, I can focus on the blessing that is Dia de los Pabos. Insert hilarious flailing turkey here for the full effect.
Yes, it’s time to assess what I am truly thankful for. There are more but I didn’t want to get too boring or sentimental.

  1. Carlos – OK, so he talks incessantly and has these crazy schemes and random ideas (think: I Love Lucy). But I love him and even if I’ve heard him tell a story over and over and over again, I still let him tell it. One thing I will say, he’s never boring.
  2. Blogging – While I am a firm believer that some things should remain sacred, for a person like me, random thoughts often get discarded and slip into oblivion. Now, I have the ability to capture these wonderful masterpieces of the mundane. A forum for shameless self-promotion. I do it for my loyal readers…my fans…my public, how they love me.
  3. My Boss – A true gift to find a boss who’ll put up with your daily ramblings. An even truer gift to find a boss who’ll–albeit begrudgingly-allow me to burst into song, random acts of dancing and doodling. His great humor in times of stress, along with free lunches and generousity have made him a pleasure to work for. Alas, I shall be retiring from this job soon, but even then, I wouldn’t trade what I’ve learned for the world. Who else could impersonate “A Little Old Lady Crossing Queens Boulevard?” C’mon! When I grow up, I could only hope to be a bit of what my Boss has been for me.
  4. Freedom & Human Rights – Ok, this should go without saying, but everytime I visit my birthplace, I become acutely aware of how cool it is to be able to walk in flannel pajamas to the corner store and go relatively unnoticed. When I post to my blog, sing at work (See #3) and whistle, the reality is so overwhelming I want to slap myself silly. Not literally of course. Did you know that in some Arabic countries it is illegal for women to eat ice-cream in public?! True. True and sick. It’s just an ice-cream, people! So when Prez Bush and the FCC talk about setting back the clock to the controled programming of the 1950’s, I am aghast. Shocked and awed. Rights are what made America the kick-ass nation it is today. I want to be able to drive in my rollers barefoot, eating ice-cream while listening to Howard Stern. That is my dream. American as apple-pie.
  5. Age & Wisdom – Your parents may have dropped you on your head as a kid. You may have injured yourself in a mosh-pit in your formative years. And you may have delayed the adult process while putting yourself through college. For the surviving few, there is much to be said about getting older. Now your brain is fully formed and is in prime condition to make rational and educated judgements based on (ack!) EXPERIENCE. That’s right, folks, we can become wiser. We can evolve. We can analyze. For those who say age is just a number just remember all of the kooky things you did as a teenager. Isn’t it better now that you realize that egging your next-door neighbors house on Halloween is wrong; fun, but just wrong. Maybe you are on the verge of buying or have already bought a home. Is it really funny to have to scrape off the egg goop? Not so funny when it’s you, is it? Well, is it???
  6. Warm, Fuzzy Sweaters – Oh my dear, cashmere. I adore-a, angora. The most idyllic? Acrylic! And other pathetically lame rhymes. I love winter so I could wear large, fuzzy sweaters. Ones that swallow you up whole or you can swim in. The comfort I feel is akin to being in the womb (I imagine, at least).
  7. Celebrities – Without the paparazzi, the snapperazzi, the stalkerazzi, where would we be? It is a guilty pleasure, I’ll admit. Such shows like, Inside the Actor’s Studio can tell us what each celebrity wants to hear God say, if they ever make it to heaven. Barbara Walters specials can show celebs crying about their rough lives. The entire E Channel wouldn’t exist if it weren’t for such notables as Lindsay Lohan, Britney Spears, and Hillary Duff. What would we do with our boring lives if we couldn’t once and awhile turn to the fabulous lives of the rich and famous? And idolize them…or mock them without the repercussions of a lawsuit. It’s too bad that Robin Leach is no longer showing us celebrity lifetsyles aymore. I used to love that freeloader.
  8. Daily Hot Chocolate Runs – My fellow co-worker and I have developed an excuse better than a brief jaunt to the water-cooler. What is better than hot choco with whipped cream drizzled with gooey chocolate? Nothing, people.
  9. The Lifting of Writer’s Block – The worst thing for a writer is not being able to find a word or idea that is conducive to the creative process. I suffered for almost a year with a blank, bland view of the world. I am very thankful that I’ve re-discovered my verbiage and creative Muse. Now let’s say that together phonetically: “MEW-Z”. Dontcha love it?!
  10. Connection – I am thankful that I have managed to reconnect with the outside world once again, to embrace it, to breathe, to live each day. But it wouldn’t be fair if you didn’t share…

So go ahead, people…WHAT ARE YOU THANKFUL FOR? I’d like to know…

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire, Cock-A-Doodle Doodles, Doodle Bug, Let's Just Invite The Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

