Resolutions


As we start winding down and rubbing our eyes incredulous at our surviving yea, another year…Those closest to me know that it’s been a doosey. No doubt the following year will bring about another set of accomplishments and disappointments but I wanted to tackle the beauty and the essence of 2005. In the words of Eddie Vedder, “I’m still alive!” and for all of the shitty moments laced with brief, fleeting moments of glory; it was all worth it. That’s never an easy thing to say. Everyone wishes they could have champagne wishes and caviar dreams all the time. Unfortunately, it is the tough times that you end up learning the most from. If life were simple, it’d probably be boring and words like: noble, stoic, perseverance, poise–would just be words in the dictionary.
In all actuality, I really don’t know what to say here because the year was peppered with so many different types of experiences. So maybe in the form of David Letterman’s Top 10, maybe I can countdown the year in my own way. Here goes nothing:

10. Lost my job.
9. Got a new car.
8. Dog died.
7. Sara came to live with us.
6. Joined the blog-i-verse.
5. Buried the hatchet with Barbara, my mom, and my sis.
4. Planning a move.
3. Attended my Dad’s wedding.
2. Visited Carlos’ mother’s grave for the first time.
1. Got my marriage license.

Well, there you have it. A taste of the good, the bad and the ugly. But that’s what it’s all about. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire, Things That Make Me Go Hmmm.... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolutions

  1. Missy Wayne says:

    Mema, Thank you for using my Christmas scene… you mooch!!!

Leave a Reply

