Pounding Pavement

Pounding Pavement   Pounding Pavement, originally uploaded by Mema13. …life on the street. A truly difficult undertaking when regarding a young, aspiring artist and her journey into the wonderful world of adulthood. Step #1: Finding a job to pay for her art supplies. The motive is to get the girl motivated. NOT AN EASY TASK. She’s the most stubborn, hard-headed, lazy riot grrl in existence. Even though I think that it’s just part of the process, part of me just wishes I could shake her until she gives in. So here are the notable feet which represent this divine moment in every girl’s life. We all need to be pushed a little, coaxed a little. Sometimes, we need to be shoved really, really hard. But the result is always the same: confidence and excellence. I know that with this guidance, Sara will shine. But, I have to convince THE POWERS THAT BE (namely, Carlos) that this is going to come out right. He’s less-than-convinced. So yesterday, Eli, her protege and myself hiked it out. The goal: to attain multiple applications from various establishments reaching our ultimate goal…employment. It was cold. So cold out that my ears were screaming for earmuffs that I usually hate to wear. Not even my favorite striped sweater really helped me feel warm or fuzzy. Ugh! We didn’t venture far, but we managed to have more than a few laughs watching the wheels of Sara’s mind turn for the first time. After one such sitting, filling out a rather detailed application, she came up to us with her face beet-red. She concentrated so hard, her face resembled a candied apple. It brought me back to that first time, y’know? I’m sure everyone can relate to the horrors of the application process, but it made me stronger and more determined to find– and then keep–a job. Now, as she walked first trepidatiously then more surely, I felt a sincere full-circle vibe. Eli commented on that feeling, too. She laughed and recalled her first experiences pounding pavement in search of the elusive job. I know. I was with her all those years ago. I pushed and poked and prodded. You see, Eli was about as hard a sell as Sara now is. But we can all learn from those humble beginnings. Perseverance DOES pay off. Parisian Charm and A Piece of Pie: Later on, we needed a break so we stopped at a charming little eatery called: Chez Marie.  Not only did Tom Cruise stop in when he filmed “War of the Worlds” but The Village Voice named it one of the best restaurants in NJ. I enjoyed a cup o’Joe and Eli scarfed down a Chez Marie 002.jpg slice of carrot cake while Sara attacked a piece of Raspberry cake. Yummy!  If ever you’re looking for a great ambience, friendly service, and a feel like Paris (though I myself have never been), then stop on by.  Tell ’em who sent ya.  Okay, okay.  Enough with the commercials and shameless promotions… “Vote for Pedro!”

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Let's Just Invite The Family, Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

