Being Sic Sux:

In my bed since Memorial Day and sick as a dog. I spent life since Tuesday in the confines of my apartment sweating and drinking liquids feeling hot and cold then cold and hot. The wonder of my bed was my only comfort since from it I can talk myself into believing that I’m sailing away on a pleasure cruise, it’s so soft. But now I’m going just about stir crazy and ready to launch myself outdoors even though it probably isn’t such a good idea since my throat is still horrifically sore. But, bygones.

What’s Wrong With America? Maury Povich:
Completely horrified but moronically glued to the television, I watch as girl after girl seeks her baby’s Daddy. What the heck is going on with America?! After about the third story you just can’t fathom why a young girl would be so promiscuous but then, she opens her mouth and you understand. The girls are less-than-stellar in the intelligence department and come from broken homes hoping to rectify their bad past experiences with newer (yet older) mistakes. Didn’t these girls watch those PSA’s I did in the 80s? Didn’t they watch the “One to Grow On” commercials and afterschool specials? Where the heck are the parents? And if the parents are around working their butts off, then why are these girls making such poor choices? Who watches these kids when they’re drinking and fornicating? Some just have no excuse like the 19 and 20 year olds who should know better but claim to be victims of circumstance. Really, they’re just victims of stupidity or were overindulged kids who never learned anything when they were younger. Instant gratification. Modern-day Pacifiers. Oral fixations and poor judgement. Ugh! Still, it’s addictive to watch the scenario: girl says she cheated on boyfriend or husband and wants to know if he is the biological father of her baby. Some of the children are as old as four or five! I mean, you wait FIVE YEARS to tell the person you claim to love that he isn’t the Dad? Puh-lease. And then therein lies the mystery. Could he or couldn’t he be the baby’s Daddy? Finally, the paternity test is revealed and whether true or not, all hell breaks loose. I ponder my fascination with such shows. Why do I enjoy watching the women cower in a backstage corner when the man tested was not the father? Why do I watch each painful nuance of a young girl sometimes noticeably shaken and frightened tell her significant other about her doubts over paternity? Why do I hoot inside when I see the men brazenly deny their responsibility or sometimes belligerently reject the test after the results are announced? Maybe I’m just a morbid voyeur or maybe I secretly enjoy watching other people admit their large flaws. Sometimes, I wonder why a person would come clean to a man who has been supporting her children regardless of paternity. Why risk shaming your family on national television and ruining your current relationship in order to be noble? If the lie can ultimately affect everything you hold dear, why risk it? Is such brutal honesty worth it? I mean, what determines a good father: the one-night-stand who’ll call you terrible names and deny your child or the guy who happens to believe that the child is his own? Just thinking aloud. If you’re going to be honest and truthful, you should do it from the door. Not after inviting someone in making him comfortable, marrying him then hitting him with the mystery baby. C’mon, people! It’s common sense!

Guilty Pleasure # 2:
The next type of show I watch when I’m bed-ridden is The Courtroom Drama! I love the Judge Mathis/Judy/Alex/Joe Brown and of course I love Divorce Court! Whooeeeeeeeeeeeee Doggie! I can’t believe how wonderfully stupid some of the defenses are. It just cracks me up. It’s a Divine Comedy I can watch and point and laugh and mock all the livelong day! Yippee!!!! *ahem*

Well, I guess that’s about it. Now it’s your time to share. What do you like to watch when you can? Huh?! Huh?!

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Things That Make Me Go Hmmm..., things that suck. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

