Let It Rain…

 Bayonne Car Stuck
Bayonne Car Stuck,
originally uploaded by Mema13.

This gives new meaning to the term: “Water under the bridge.” And it was among two other pics I took when I stepped off of the lightrail yesterday and saw this…The only good thing was that it didn’t consist of sewer water or anything, so it wasn’t really clean water, but it wasn’t all smelly with random rats floating in it or anything. I, like some other brave souls, decided I would just throw caution to the wind and deal with the elements. I am a nature-girl after all. What was that old high-school English teacher’s motto–? “Mud-luscious and puddle wonderful” a quote from Henry David Thoreau? I think it’s Thoreau. Anyway, I walked through soaking the bottoms of my pants and feeling the water getting sucked in through the soles of my shoes. Soon, they were making that annoying squishy sound. Squish, Squish. Yuck. But it’s so funny how everybody who encountered this scene behaved like they’d never seen water like this before. Basically, it went like this:

A herd of women passed with their umbrellas in tow saying, “Oh, it’s so bad over here. Isn’t it bad? I don’t think I’ve ever seen this before. Never in a million years. Well ladies, see ya tomorrow…be safe.”

I laughed at them and at myself fumbling to take an award-winning photograph to be featured in the Star Ledger and I even went so far as to send it to the photo desk. They probably laughed at my naivete, but I was just all amped and excited at seeing water this high. I bet some folks in New Orleans were probably laughing out loud at me. But there was flooding everywhere which makes me think that maybe if Israel wants to get back at us Americans, all they would have to do is ask Allah for a favor to rain down holy rains from Heaven. That, or start sending nuclear bombs into the atmosphere and destroy us with global warming, thanks to all of that CO2 needed to propel the bombs. Then again, that would probably prove detrimental to themselves as well because, hello, GLOBAL warming?! I know. I’m paranoid. But I can’t help but believe that it doesn’t matter.

I mean, nothing really matters except watching people when they’re happy, when they smile and laugh. Feeling someone’s good spirits and sensing when they’re about to fall apart and realizing that you can help those things. You can actually just be there and that could matter more than cheering the person up. A weird symbiosis that your presence commands that makes things completely alright. Even when it isn’t. So even though I had gotten clobbered when I left my job with a downpour and had to wade through shin-high water and looked like a sopping wet mop by the time I was done, I had this mini-revelation. It wasn’t just optimism. It was clarity.
So go ahead and splish-splash through the rainy weekend. Enjoy it and…Let It Rain.

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Back To The Drawing Board, Look Into My Crystal Ball, Things That Make Me Go Hmmm.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

