I’m Sorry, But Are You Just As Totally Confused As I Am?

Pluto may not be a planet. So I learned that the stupid mnemonic device in grammar school : My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Nine Pickles no longer is valid.

Mercury Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune…but no Pluto?! Has the world gone topsy-turvy?

How awful is it that now that this has been determined–years after a bunch of us were taught the contrary–all textbooks are now outdated!  What mnemonic device will they use now?

My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Nothing?

My Version Ends Methods, Just Strip Understandings Now.

Mnemonic Verses Eliminate Man’s Jingle, Surely Usurping Nature.

Many Variations Expected, Meatheads Juggle Strange Unbelievable News.

Miscellaneous Victories Enjoyed, Many Jousts Sicken Untold Numbers.

My Vibrant Earth Mother Justly Serves United Nations.

And so on and so forth. So now I’m confused.  Oh sure, they gave their reasons for their decision, but what I can’t understand is why it took science so long to debate this?  So now the dang thing has been demoted to one of the seven “dwarf planets”.  Sounds so lame.  Poor, Pluto.  Poor, poor, Pluto.  But hey, at least he’s not Grumpy. 

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Nothing To See Here., Things That Make Me Go Hmmm..., Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Sorry, But Are You Just As Totally Confused As I Am?

  1. LGrana says:

    I couldn’t believe that about poor Pluto either! What’s happening in this crazy world? And did they “name” the one they found beyond Pluto?

  2. Mema says:

    I dunno. Did they?
    I’m not that up on my stars. Except the ones in Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

