R.I.P. Crocodile Hunter (we hardly knew ye):

RIP_Steve Irwin

When my sister called me and told me that Steve Irwin (aka The Crocodile Hunter) had died from a poisonous stingray, I couldn’t help but chuckle.  I’m not a morbid person–I’m not, ma! But the only thing I could think of was the funny behind this truly sad tale of woe.  I mean, DEATH BY STINGRAY?  C’mon!  Of course I mourned in my own little way as I remembered the good ole times with this Crocodile-Dundee-alike.  And of course I felt just about as bad as when Roy got attacked by his own tiger.  I mean, ’cause…yeah.  But all I kept thinking about is what his final words would be.  Things like, “I thought it was a wallabe!” and I couldn’t resist the urge, “Cri-kie!!!!!” *glug, glug*  Sorry fans.  I know that this is probably in bad taste, but I couldn’t help it.  I guess it’s because this man truly didn’t take his own life too seriously.  He jokingly put his life at risk time and time again and with that crazy accent, television magic was bourne.  But I did shed a tear namely because he leaves behind such a great adventure-filled legacy, not to mention his wife and kid.  That’s the sad truth. Still, I think that the guy lived the dream that only most of us envision.  He walked with the animals, talked with the animals and came closer than any one of us to some wild, wild things.  And it wasn’t like he got eaten alive like that Timothy Treadwell guy.  Even though his final moments were videotaped, it appears that the cameraman was a good friend and could have a heart about releasing the footage.  One can hope, anyway. So all in all,  the man lived a life that the world could only ooh and ahh about. 

Stingray Vendetta

But I still couldn’t help but imagine if maybe the seemingly peculiar ‘accident’ couldn’t have been a stingray vendetta fulfilled…Perhaps, years ago Irwin had inadvertently had a run-in with a high-ranking member of the Stingray clan.  Follow me on this one…okay? Well, the stage was set for a potential Stingray Rebellion but not without a fight. Tune in for “Stung by Stingray” (coming soon to a theatre near you)!  Hell, it can’t be any worse than “Snakes On A Plane”!  Can it?!

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, Back To The Drawing Board, Doodle Bug, We're On A Blogroll. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to R.I.P. Crocodile Hunter (we hardly knew ye):

  1. Quana says:

    You know you wrong for this; but it’s funny as hell! Listen call me.

    Love you
    Q

  2. Mema says:

    Yeah, I know I’m going to hell.
    I will call you. I promise…*fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

