Will The Real Anne Rice Please Stand Up?

Dear Anne, Okay.  I’ve been a fan of all your previous novels.  I have.  Your ability to capture all of the details of my life were as good as Marius’s paintings.  I’ve loved your depiction of our little collaboration on the Vampire Chronicles and of course, our famed
MayFair witches.  Many have caught our newer endeavors on Broadway and we have both earned some devoted readers of all of our works, despite their much doubted “flowery” language (I’m guilty of that perhaps) and occasional disappointments (hello, Pandora?).  But now, after having completed your Christ the Lord, I am completely baffled.  Why, Anne? Why did you opt out of having an editor review the manuscript?  There were grammatical errors and redundancy, Anne.  It was a bit torturous.  Why also did you seemingly omit the more interesting points behind the childhood of The Christ: Jesus of Nazareth?  Surely you have researched the subject extensively, as defended by an impressive Bibliography that doesn’t seem to ignore any texts, be they ancient scrolls or literary commentaries.  Were you just setting up your new audience for the follow-up novel?  I am not just a consumer in an already over-flowing religious market.  You know me much better than that.  Dare I say it was almost heretical and reminded me of that poor soul, Veronica.  Still showing that tattered veil to anyone who’ll care to see it.  Is that why you left your beloved New Orleans to flee to
California?  True that I–and Louis, and Merrick–barely escaped that whole business with the levees breaking… But there is no passion in this literary work.  There is an overwhelming amount of conjecture that is not at all compelling. As old as I am, you would guess that I would have come face to face with some historical evidence that Christ’s existence was in fact, divine.  Unfortunately, I have found all to be the contrary.  I recall the passion you once had questioning the existence of God in your earlier works, Anne.  You and I have only met on occasion, but the debate was certainly one that you were always so eager to engage in.  Now, your natural curiousity has been obliterated by your renewed faith and devotion.  Where’s the flesh and the bone that made you famous, beloved?  Have you lost it?  Did you get lost in the vast array of conflicting information about the Son of God?  Was there too much?  I seriously question whether you truly believed in what you wrote.  There was only a single brief encounter with the dark angel, Anne? Only one?!  If I may paraphrase a little in the modern vernacular, “C’mon, man!” 
Please bring the real Anne back.  Not just the religious devotee, but the genuine (pardon the pun) Devil’s Advocate that was not afraid of showing her readers a glimpse at the sensational.  This work is not sensational, Anne.  It’s more of a sensational failure.  I even had Louis review it and he agrees with me, albeit bedgrugingly.  Now that I’ve bought the novel, I want a return.  Bad.Your Loyal Reader,

Lestat.

10/15/06, 2:04am

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Back To The Drawing Board, I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia, Look Into My Crystal Ball. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Will The Real Anne Rice Please Stand Up?

  1. Missy Wayne says:

    Thanks for doing that Lestat. Though I feel I should read it just to see if I feel the same. Another Anne fan.

  2. Mema says:

    OK. Learn to speak English, then get back to me. Thaaaaanks.

  3. Mema says:

    Again, English as a 2nd language is not what this blog is about. Talk to me when you’ve mastered the art of simple sentences.
    Thaaaaaaaanks.

  4. Pingback: My Conversation With My Favorite Author, Anne Rice: « Mema’s Musings

Leave a Reply

