Peacemeal

Sara & Carlos_In The Kitchen

I laughed.  I think that I really haven’t belly-laughed as hard as I did this holiday go-around.  Over the years, I’m almost sure that I’d forgotten its meaning.  It was good to get back to basics, feeling thankful once again for what I’ve been given and celebrating the true meaning of family.  I found out that it isn’t all perfect and imaginary.  It’s sloppy, but loving.  It isn’t judgmental, but present.  But it definitely isn’t painful.

In the morning, Carlos got up and did his usual nervous parade up and down the kitchen, yelling orders like a corporal.  True, he made me nearly go mad with his offer to cook every pastry known to man, but it was all really worth it.  My terrifying battle with the bird did not occur, since my step-daughter handled all the cooking.   While Carlos managed the logistics of where to place what, how long things needed to cook, and what needed to be on the table and when, I enjoyed the yummy remnants of a full on feast that I had only to attend–guilt-free, mind you–for the first time in years.  I didn’t have to invite anyone, but someone came anyway.  There was plenty to share and believe me, plenty to be thankful for.  But this was the most worry-free, wonderful and fully enjoyable meal I’ve ever had.  No muss, no fuss.  No dish, no dirt.  No anger, no regret.  Just food and laughter and sweet smells from my kitchen.  Sara actually even threw me out at one point: the experiment to make her be more verbal working for the first time.  Joey, Carlos’ son called from Texas.  We heard from the Cafe Con Leche Crew: Fifi, Barbara, Jessica, Milly all celebrating together from Florida.  It was great.

Now I have leftovers to last almost a week.  Sara’s cherry pie (among her apple and pumpkin pies) was delicious.  It appears to have been attacked by pirates in the middle of the night…heehee 😉  As for the turkey, well, it couldn’t have come out better had we had it professionally done at the local supermarket.  (Yeah, right)  I hope that this is the beginning of many memorable and ultimately happier family get-togethers.  Even if the get-togethers don’t include the usual players.  But if that means a better time, then I’m all up for it.  I guess too much of a bad thing is bad for you!?  Who’d of thought…

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Let's Just Invite The Family, Nothing To See Here., Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

