A Good Time Was Had By All!

My birthday came and went last week and unfortunately, it was spent feeling horribly sick.  Yup, I was stuck in bed ALL DAY thanks to the unusally warm-weather / cold-weather roulette we’ve been playing this winter.  To boot, we’re so not getting a white Christmas at all and it kinda sucks because I couldn’t get into the holiday season to begin with and now it’s gonna be even harder. 

I did have surprisingly awful and wonderful experiences so far which proved to be eye-opening and, dare I say, enlightening.   I’ve already been surprised a few times.  For example, my first birthday phone call was my ex-Boss, Eric who’s been more of a father to me than my own Dad who chose not to call me this year.  When I call him I’m sure the excuse will be either a) I was working b) Oh yeah, I forgot.  You’re how old, baby girl? c) I lost your phone number (nevermind that I’ve given to him a hundred times and he always manages to lose it until I call him first.  Second, was a Christmas card from some unexpected people including my other former Boss.  It was a cute card, too with a very lovely little secret “just-between-us” message inside which totally shocked the crap out of me.  I loved it.  Seems like I didn’t get into the Christmas card giving this year, either.  Read my previous bah-humbug article noting my disenchantment with the whole season to know what the hell I’m talking about.  But…I did manage to scrounge a little fun out of it (again from an unexpected place).  Here’s the result:

I think if it weren’t for a PhotoBooth, I wouldn’t have ended up having as much fun as I eventually ended up having.  Somehow, it was a crazy icebreaker and set the stage for my moment of madness.  The funny part is that everybody always assumes that I’m some insane extrovert.  Although I would admit to being outgoing most of the time, I do have my shy side and I’m not always as eager to make a fool of myself as I seem to let on.  I’m actually, very much a wallflower especially in overly festive settings because I like to play ‘safe’.  The steady way may not be the way to play all the time, but it works for me.  I have a way of obscuring myself quite cleverly–but nevermind that.  I ended up putting on my dancing shoes and doing my best impersonation of a Dancing Queen later on in the evening all while sneaking away to blow myself up to two Russians and scarfing down a decent dinner.  By the way, the cheesecake was divine…

Don’t you wish you were me…The Mighty Flea?

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire, I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia, Whistling While I...Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

