At Home With The Dorks & Geeks

I’m a nerd.  It’s not like I need help or anything.  I even like proclaiming my nerdiness and it’s getting easier and easier for more people to shout it from the rooftops, too.  There is something so soothing about this warm computer screen glow, not to mention the countless types of brilliant websites, clever downloads, and yes…blogs.  A whole community that I am now a part of.  Wholeheartedly. 

The other day I was speaking to someone who was not a computer nerd…and it showed.  I took for granted that this person had no working knowledge of tech-speak (not even the basics).   It made me wonder–do people still live under rocks?!  LOL! I mean, ROFLMA!!!! But seriously…For a non-techie, it can be a hard world to live in.  Even the simple instructions: “Double-click on the icon” can sound like a foreign language and often does to people not born in the Technology Age.  Don’t worry–I wasn’t born then either.  I’m one of those nerdy people that assimilated to a demanding world where technology was a must. 

EEK!  A MOUSE!

Years ago, when I was an aspiring geek, I went to an interview in NYC.  And yes, my mom was like, “Oh, be careful not to wear your jewelry because people get mugged in the BIG CITY” and stuff like that there.  But I knew that I needed to try out for a position where I literally had to copy resumes.  I mean, that’s it.  Sounds simple as a pimple, right?  Wrong.  I flubbed this opportunity BIG TIME.  Picture this: Having just aced my sit-down interview, my confidence was overflowing.  The gentleman, who I just interviewed with, directed me to a set of computers.  He told me that this would be a simple exam just to test my computer skills.  Little did the man know, I had had no prior experience working with computers.  I didn’t even know how to turn one on, let alone work on it.  The interviewer led me to a chair, turned on the screen, and the only thing on the desktop (at the time) was a toolbar of icons.  I didn’t know what to do.  My palms began to sweat and I started to worry as he said something like, “I’ll just leave you here to copy this document.”  He handed me a resume. I panicked and never ever had one of those Mentos-commercial endings.  Nope.  I choked.  Badly.  But life-lesson was learned…albeit the hard way.  From then on, I worked really, really hard to understand that unblinking eye called “monitor” with all those small “icons” on a surface called “desktop”. 

And when I remember that experience, I’ll admit that I still shudder.  So there.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia, Look Into My Crystal Ball, things that suck. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

