It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

Rainy Days

While the world is stuck at home feeling yucky or down because of this noreaster passing through, I am happier than a clam.  I love rain.  I prefer to be indoors while it pours to be able to focus and listen to the drops fall.  I’ve been called, “morbid” and “strange” for loving that downpour that douses the flowers and make green seem greener.  They don’t see what I see.  I enjoy walking in it even.  Rain just has a way of making me feel happy.  I tried to think of the real reason  behind this obsession with rain, but really,  I think it is a result of several reasons. 

The story goes…

That when I was in the womb-room (before I was born), my mom had a strange craving for dirt.  Not just any dirt, but the soft earth after a Puerto Rico rain.  Thus began my introduction.  Of course, I could never just know these things.  My real memory of the pleasure of rain came years afterward while, prior to a storm annoucing Spring, my Dad instructed my sister, me, and my mom to join him outside to reap the benificent shower that represented good luck.  The rain came down and we stood in it; my sister and I enjoying the large puddles and my mom and dad laughing and getting completely soaked.  As my parents stretched out their arms, they allowed the rain to wash away their worries, their fears, their adult burdens.  Who’d of thought…rain as a solution?? 

Rainy weather in my family always meant a good time.  And it couldn’t be a coincidence that my sister, as we were growing up, couldn’t pronouce the word “Rain”.  It became a private mission of mine to get her to say it properly.  Each time, I’d say, “Rrrr…”  She’d follow, “Rrrr…”  I’d repeat, “Rrrr-ain!”  She’d answer, “Wayne!”  It never failed.  Then there was the time that my family and I went on our summertime trip to The Lakes.  We usually went to Lake Hopatkong and would enjoy a little swimming, a little fishing, a little berry-picking, and some good eats.  But there was this one time…we decided to go but my parents must not have heard the weather report.  As we set up the picnic table with our barbecue, dark storm clouds were gathering over our heads.  I don’t even remember my dad and my mom wavering.  Instead, they just reacted–my dad fashioning a makeshift canopy out of a quilt that my mom had sewn, while my mom set me and Eli up underneath the picnic table.  Me and Eli pretended that it was our cottage in the woods and were almost glad that we didn’t have to deal with the persistent bugs ruining our meal.  Even when we had bought a swimming pool for our backyard, rain was never a deterrent.  Many a day we went outside for a swim while the rain poured down.  It added an extra element of excitement.

My favorite rainy day story has to deal with another family outing that involved an unplanned trip northeast.  As my dad drove, me and Eli complained about how we didn’t want to be on a family trip.  My mom complained because we’d left the house ill-prepared and my dad grew insistent that it wouldn’t spoil our fun.  Oftentimes our outings began this way: spontaneously and rashly but ended up someplace else.  So we went along with my dad, upset that we weren’t being heard.  We ended up at a water park and were disappointed to say the least.  Somehow though, it ended up being a lot of fun as my dad puchased swimming trunks for me and my sis, towels and flip-flops.  The whole trip was corny, but we made the best of it and sure enough, there was rain.  While we were cold and sopping wet, we froze while seeing a cheesy magic act and laughed the whole time.  That’s the way it was.  It was always great.

So come, noreaster, come.  I ain’t afraid o’ you…

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Let's Just Invite The Family, Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

