My Conversation With My Favorite Author, Anne Rice:

Anne Fan

I really hate to brag, but I have officially been exchanging emails with the divine Miss Anne Rice.  That’s right, my literary idol, the Queen of the Damned herself, author of the Vampire Chronicles and The MayFair Witches.  I’m a huge fan and thought it was cool that she (or, her assistant–doesn’t really matter) took the time to write back to me.  It’s absolutely awesome.  So, here it is (in its entirety).  Oh yeah, and we’re on a first-name basis now. We’re like, thisclose.  Go ahead and envy me.  It’s totally ok.

Date: Mon, 18 Jun 2007 13:35:16 -0700
From: “Anne; Website: Anne Rice.com”
To: “Lisa Perez” <honeyandy305@yahoo.com>
Subject: Editors and editors
Thanks.  I'm sorry if I sounded impatient.  The "editing" question has
become so distorted.  The copy editors and proof readers at respectable
houses do go over these books exhaustively; and it's not uncommon to
have them calling right up to pub time with questions about punctuation,
spelling, etc.  They try to catch other things...like --- when a
characters "stands up" twice in a scene or when some one's hair is described
as the wrong color.  They work like dogs on all this, and authors do
too.  -----  The one thing they do not do is: they don't rewrite the
books.  ----  They're not allowed to do this.  ----  In more commercial
publishing, sometimes a staff of people does re-write material; but
usually such people would never publish books such as mine.  I'm far too
eccentric and too literary for that kind of publishing house.  They would
have "edited" Lestat right out of existence.  ---- My publisher does
not do routine commercial fiction.  ----  Another place where editors
change everything is in commercial magazines; that's why most everything
in Time or Newsweek or People sounds as if it were written by the same
person.  Editors "smooth it out."  ---- Anyway, thanks for listening.
  Anne. 
On Sunday, June 17, 2007, at 05:56PM
 >Wow!  I'm so excited that you responded.
>It's cool.  I admit that I'm a lowly novice and all in
>the world of editing. 
>Thanks again for responding and giving me a forum to
>voice my opinions in the first place.
>
>YOU ARE WAY COOL!
>
~MeMa
>
>--- "Anne; Website: Anne Rice.com"

>> Thanks for your opinion.  Numerous editors review
>> every manuscript published by Knopf.  Proof readers
>> go over the original manuscript, over the galleys,
>> over the page proofs, yet still some how errors
>> survive this process. Some are corrected when a book
>> is reissued.  --- It would be a good idea if those
>> of you who are concerned about "editing" would learn
>> a little more about editing and how it works in
>> American publishing.  It's a vast subject, but you
>> do see to lack even the basic understanding of how
>> books are edited for publication in America and in
>> England.  I have published thoughts on this process
>> on my website from time to time.  ---  Thanks again
>> for your response. Anne Rice
>> On Saturday, June 16, 2007, at 07:53PM

>>
>> >Dear Mrs. Rice:
>> >
>> >In a person's natural progression in life, one has
>> a
>> >tendency to move away from youthful frivolity and
>> into
>> >its second-phase which is more internal, personal.
>> >Having been a fan of the former, it was difficult
>> for
>> >me to embrace the Christ the Lord the novel.  I
>> wanted
>> >to like it but found myself annoyed that the
>> Greatest
>> >Story Ever Told left me so...well, wanting.
>> Perhaps
>> >that was the mood that you were going for.  But, I
>> >know that there are Dead Sea Scrolls out there that
>> >are offering all sorts of conflicting views about
>> the
>> >Son of God that are deliciously tempting to be
>> >deconstructed in narrative. 
>> >
>> >I was anticipating the wisdom in that voice of the
>> >precocious child so like Mona.  Unfortunately, I
>> >didn't relate to Christ as a boy the way I thought
>> I
>> >was going to.  The tedium of reading the history
>> >behind His early years made me feel somewhat
>> >disconnected and the scene where he raises his
>> friend
>> >from the dead didn't manage to engage me the way
>> that
>> >the scene with Lestat being brought back to life
>> did.
>> >To be honest, it fell flat for me.  I was even
>> moved
>> >to blog about it.  You're welcome to read it, or
>> not:
>> >
>>
Anne Rice Critique
>> >Anyhow, I still remain a loyal fan and am hoping
>> that
>> >all of this soul-searching will indeed offer some
>> >solace that will translate in your future work.  I
>> >myself grow tired of my own renderings but always
>> >value writers like yourself with so many novels
>> under
>> >her belt (no small feat). 
>> >
>> >Sincerely,
>> >
>> MeMa

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, Nothing To See Here.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

