Independence Day

Bombs Bursting in Air

So today it was Independence Day and unlike the movie, there were fireworks in lieu of a White House explosion.  Except these days, I guess a White House explosion would be more interesting (preferably with GW Bush in it). 

So I walked the dogs and then I watched the fireworks across the water.  Some loonies joined me, clapping through the silence, yelling random things like: “Woo Hoo!  America!!!” and “Yeah!  Independence!”  I figured that they were just probably alcoholics who’ll hoot at anything just because.  Turns out, I was right.  Yea me!

Truthfully, I can’t even understand the symbolism behind literal bombs bursting in air.  I don’t get most holiday symbolism, but well, I guess that’s just what holidays are all about.  It doesn’t matter that the true meaning behind the celebratory symbols have long since been obcured or worse, forgotten.  But without traditions what would these any of the following mean: Easter eggs, fat men in red suits yelling, “Ho, Ho, Ho!” and giant turkeys wearing Pilgrim garb?  Alone, these are just a set of oddball things.  It’s the holidays that give each of these meaning. 

So air pollution be damned!  Let’s raise the flag and watch those sparkly fireworks displays until we’re red, white and blue in the face.  What are you, un-American?

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Art Is My Life!, Let's Just Invite The Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

