False Friends and Confusing Relations

I’d like to believe that I have a set of rules on being my friend that I’ve established from years of getting burned.  But every now and then, lurking in the shadows there are still the aura of false friends.  I say ‘lurking’ because it is often a subtle arrangement of behaviors that  you excuse in your good natured intent on gathering friends like a bouquet of flowers.  Sometimes, that bouquet smells sweet.  Sometimes it smells like trash and it hits you like a sucker punch.  Not to say that I am always a bad judge of character.  It’s just that these personalities can arise from out of nowhere to taunt you with their wiles. 

I’m not tormenting you

Blunt honesty is a double-edged sword and should be used sparingly.  Of course I want you to tell me if I have a booger sticking out of my nose or a huge stain on my blouse, that’s a given.  But if you go on rants that last for hours about how much I suck or revel in pointing out all of my flaws to me ad nauseum, then I’ve got to re-evaluate my friendship with you.  Friendship cannot be confused with working relationships with your colleagues.  This entry is solely talking about personal friendships that develop outside of that realm.  Sometimes friendships do stem from the workplace, but I am excluding that from this post.  That can be confusing in itself, but at least there’s already a common ground.  Nope, real friendships could evolve from your past or similar interests shared or school or a connection from another friend. 

Get Used To Disappointment

The real problem lies in loyalty.  Even the friends who have managed to ring true for years and years eventually end up failing you on some deep level that swears you off friendship forever.  Whew!  That’s a mouthful.  No need to doodle handlebar mustaches over Polaroids of them.  I think that disappointment is often synonymous with friendship and you’re either okay with that or not.  It’s much easier just to forgive and forget so long as the harm done to you didn’t involve romantic betrayal or something equally horrific.   Usually, the infraction is something that is easily rectified by talking things out or by ditching the friendship altogether (that is, so long as you aren’t forced to take the friend to People’s Court or anything).  

Dogs Truly Are Man’s Best Friend

Forget the idiots of the world.  Forget the people who try to put you down or the ones that feign kindness while stabbing you in the heart.  We’re so over that.  Instead, settle for friends of the four-legged persuasion.  Canines are loyal and offer unconditional love, which is more than I can say for most humans.  So invest in a furry little critter that you can carry around in your handbag, wagging its tail at you in pure adoration.  There’s nothing like that feeling of pure appreciation that makes you feel like the goddess you truly are.  Unless of course, you’re like these two:

Bert & Ernie

Now tell me they’re not up to something…

Exactly.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in things that suck, Wasteland, Angst, and Other Good News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to False Friends and Confusing Relations

  1. Pingback: Why is friendship hard? | CAAR'S WORLD

Leave a Reply

