O Ye of Little Faith

While walking the dogs this evening with my companion, he found a dollar bill in the street.  Seeing it as a sign of good luck, I cheerfully replied: “Oh,  Good! A bit of luck!”, adding (in my typical superstitious way), “Now place it in your left pocket and don’t spend it.”  My companion was not amused and responded with his characteristic negativity. Getting on his anti-soap-box, he cursed under his breath something about no one having ever helped him in his life and no one ever would.

Cut and print.

Instances like these ignite a riot in my soul.  It is not only torturous for me to hear, but it is also a Debbie-Downer moment that has no equivalent as I set off on my eternal mission to convince the naysayers–like Carl–about smiling fortune and kindness.  Both are scarce these days, but I remain steadfast in my beliefs that one good turn of shining, happy kindness often leads to other shining, happy moments.  Its hard to find, but sometimes it just takes practice from both you and the people you’re trying to convince.  Most people respond like Carl: dismally.  They huff and they puff and they blow houses down.  I say that the beginning should stem first from the inside and work its way out.  Kinda like a virus…but a good one.

No one’s saying that life doesn’t offer its share of challenges.  What I am saying is that challenges, however frequent, must have their end as all things do.

“This too shall pass”–is not just a bumper-sticker motto.  It’s a credo that I live by.  I’ve had my share of bad luck, bad humor, bad experiences.  I realize that realistically, life gives lemons…and lemons…and lemons…Ugh! Sour!  But I think not of Murphy’s Law, but Newton’s Law of Physics: “What goes up, must come down.”  The Enlightened, Metaphysical World of Opposites that guide our world prove that ups and downs are the norm.  The good thing is that new ideologies involving balance and karma and Transcendentalism have been introduced as well.  It speaks of a constant yin-yang equation which adds a clause to Newton’s Law:  “What goes up must come down (but will eventually come back up again and vice versa–forever)”.  For eva, eva?  Yes.  Forever, ever. In other words, your house may burn down, but like magic a phoenix will arise out of its ashes. <=Was that a bit overstated?  Sorry. But you get the point, right?

I stormed off out of frustration because speaking to Carl at times like these is almost like hitting your head against a brick wall: all it will do is end up giving you a headache.  So I knitted my eyebrows together and took a walk, all the while rolling this  argument over and over in my mind.  What could make someone so stubborn about something so logical?  I think a lot has to do with resiliency and spirit.  Unlike Carl, I am remarkably resilient to problems.  Despite my whining, complaining and overall worrywartness (Is this even a word?), I can handle whatever life throws pretty well.  Going with the flow wasn’t always easy…and still isn’t.  It’s in the doing that one starts to see the benefits–firsthand.  All it takes is time and patience.  As for the spirit, I’ve got bunches.  It’s in my nature to be optimistic–a true characteristic trait inherent in those born under the astrological sign, Sagittarius.

Let’s say for the sake of argument that you have both of these important features: resiliency and spirit.  Are those the only ingredients in your Soup Du Jour?  Nope.  The final piece is a trick that involves the deepest recesses of your personality.  It doesn’t have to be a spiritual thing, but it definitely is a necessary thing if you want to be a well-rounded person.  Ready?  Well, it’s…

F-A-I-T-H

…And I’m not talking about the George Michael album of the 80’s.  A dash of dilligence, a pinch of perseverance, and you’re done.  The perfect recipe to make you a great person.  Will it always work?  Well, it has to.  Like gravitates to like.  Love heals all wounds.  And so on and so forth.

Go on.  Be kind.  No faith?  Then, I’m just gonna have to add you onto my conversion list…

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Burn Your Bras!, Wasteland, Angst, and Other Good News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

