The Yellow Tail Tale

Here’s to good friends: tonight is kinda special.  Yeah. Everyone knows that commercial.  There’s always some wonder and merriment with beer-induced friendship.  But I’ve discovered that this is not my style.  I much prefer the richer, deep upscale conversation that cannot be gotten with beer…no, no!  It is a wine-state of nirvana.

I’m no wino.  I unwind on the vino.  I chill with a bottle of Cabernet.  I value it’s room temp aroma.  Whether it’s 2008 or 2006, the year doesn’t matter.  I’m just up for the mood that only wine can set.  It isn’t a sandy beach on the Riviera, people.  It’s more of a subtle venue: a Parisian street, an Italian villa.  Even the presentation is white-collar: the wine glass.  Oh so stoic and pristine.  Modeled after Maria Antoinette’s breasts?  Who knows.  I just like the tulip-like stem, the circle of trust on the rim of a glass.  Good times.

Now don’t get me wrong.  I’m not a prude, nor an elitist who isn’t wont to whet her whistle on the blue-collar side every once and a while.  I watch football.  I indulge occasionally in the ape-like habits of a pub drunkard, squeezing the nectar of the gods from a keg and shouting at his cronies everytime the ball reaches the end-zone.  Simple.  Funny.  Cool.  But there is a lush complexity to be had with a more formal drink.  The taste preferred by Romans two to one.  A Bacchus fueled beverage of bliss.  Plus, I love cheese and it just doesn’t go as well with beer.  It really doesn’t.

So on a ride home on a particularly stressful evening where my sister and I were sharing “My job is getting on my nerves” stories, my sister decided that we needed to elongate our time.  These days, it is happening more frequently since she’s moved nearby.  Sometimes we’ll get on such a good roll of conversation, that it is necessary that she kidnap me a little longer and she had suggested we grab some Yellow Tail wine (which by no means is an expensive wine).  It’s a low-grade selection of flavors to choose from for a Saturday night (or, any day of the week as far as I’m concerned).  Wine should always be paired with some kind of cheese.  In this case, we went with pizza.  And then we topped the meal off with Oreo cookies.  Who can deny the the power of the Oreo?

I told you we weren’t prudes! 

Just to prove that wine is an essential to go hand-in-hand with good conversation, here’s a brief synopsis of what was discussed:

  • Meaningful Quotations from Famous People
  • Poetry 
  • The Tarot
  • Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness
  • Racial Tension and Entitlement
  • Secrets
  • Do UFO’s Really Exist?
  • American Idol and the mystery that is Ryan Seacrest

In short, spread the word of wine.  Jest and cajole and analyze and review in rosy-cheeked content.  Consider this discourse a good trade: great insight for a great price…Not bad for $10, eh kids?

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Which Came First?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

