You See I Got Me These Nine Lives

Politics, scratching at the back door…Meow! Pfft, pfft

I’m just about sick about the whole campaigning and all and I’ve got a bone to pick with my sis over politics.  It isn’t the direction that I want to take at all because I really feel that the Dream That Once Was is long over.  Although most didn’t believe, I really, really did when Clinton campaigned in Jersey and stood in front of a podium to say that I mattered.  I waved one of those Clinton/Gore posters and donned the buttons.  I did.  But it was as if the wind had been beaten out of me once George Bush was announced to be President and I’ve been in mourning ever since.  I believed that people made a difference.  I lobbied with local and state governments for Medicare support and wrote to my Congressman over the course of three solid years attempting to be heard on the state of health-care.  I believed with all my heart that I’d be heard.  Instead, I was slapped with constant failings in public offices for the State of New Jersey.  Our Governor went public with his sexual preference, and scandal after scandal moved our state further away from doing very much of anything but stopping the political bleeding.

The Claws Come out

Now we have dueling partisan politicians spouting much the same rhetoric I’ve heard before.  “We’ll cut taxes”, blah, blah.  “We’ll initiate plans to get our troops out of Iraq”, blah-bitty, blah.  “We’ll try to remove our dependence on oil”, yadda-yadda blah.  It’s all the same.  No matter which supporter you back, the belief that our government will help the common man is null and void.  Once again, the government is stuck cleaning up Bush’s mess and stopping the bleeding once more.  Oh it’s a hard sell all around for both camps; the war between two opposing worlds: conservativism vs liberalism, sex vs race, experience vs new ideals, charisma vs character. 

Purr…

To me, it breaks down like this:

Yes, McCain has served this country in Vietnam.  But do we really want grandpa to die in office to turn over to a political novice like Palin?  Sexy as she may be, many will agree that she isn’t fit to run this country.  McCain’s already had some medical scares which question whether or not he’s healthy enough to handle Commander-In-Chief.  I watch and cringe when Pat Robertson condescends about Palin as if she were just the little woman from Alaska.  Newspapers pen her as a soccer mom.  Really?  In Alaska?  I thought the sport out there was hunting.  But I digress…

Mew, mew…

As for Obama, no one knows too much about him other than his mother raised him and his father was African.  Where’d he really come from?  How’d he get so much financial backing and from where?  True, it’s cool that he is the first African-American to be in contention for the Presidency, but who’s pulling the strings?  As for his regular Joe Biden Vice-Presidential nominee, it seems that he was unaware as to which side he was on as long as he was nominated into some kind of office.  But, his charismatic tales of beating bullies and giving them bloody noses aside, he comes equipped with experience and you gotta hand it to him: he was the youngest Congressman elected.  That has to count for something.

I Hate Baths

I still don’t feel overly excited or compelled to vote for either team.  Why am I limited (in a free country) to two selections, anyway?  McCain just sounds like an old man preaching and something about Obama’s cadence in his speeches makes me feel as though he’s acting.  I don’t believe either one.  Around this time, I used to know, without a doubt, who I was backing.  Now, I don’t wanna vote at all.  If each candidate would stop taking the American people for granted, attempting to wash the sins of Mr. Bush and his cronies, then maybe I’d believe again.  What will it take for me and for others like me who refuse to stand idly by while the world goes to shit?  We don’t need a bath.  We need people to get their hands dirty.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

