Re-charging The Batteries

I’ve been away because I’ve just been drained.  And maybe a little depressed because my vacation plans went to shit.  But what can I do about that?  Nothing. 

So what’s new in the wonderful world of MeMa?  Not much.  I have enjoyed the randomly entertaining local gossip and have been sleeping a lot.  I think the crash was long overdue. 

I Didn’t Go To The Reunion:

After all of the careful planning, the contact information gathered and the great intentions, I didn’t attend.  It was an awful evening with torrential rain, but it wasn’t the rain that stopped me.  It was a combination of Carlos feeling ill and me wanting to stay at home with him, but that wasn’t the reason either.  I think it was just that I had more fun with the planning than I did with the meeting of all of my old high school chums.  I’m not sure why, but I felt that my involvement was more about initiating interest rather than it was about me being there.  It’s not that I don’t believe that we had a remarkable experience and all.  It really was and I am very proud of our alma mater.  I just wanted to make sure that the event would have the same nostalgic feel that I planned in my head.  As it was coming to life, I saw that the direction it was taking was almost too lax…much like the way our class has always been about stuff.  If Heidi and I hadn’t started the ball rolling, I felt that it would have never come to fruition.  For some strange reason, it was time for them.  But no matter how I sliced it, it just wasn’t time for me.  Don’t get me wrong.  I loved the organizational aspect, but the thought of sitting opposite my former classmates made me feel a little nervous.  What would I really say to them?  Will it really matter what we’ve done in our lives?  It was a stressor that I didn’t need and I although they are all great people, in their own right, it seemed as though something would be missing.  Perhaps I just wanted to control more of the event.  Perhaps I was just scared.  Either way, I opted out and remained the heroine without having to defend myself and my life’s choices and all of that.  It was great to get those folks together and leave it there.

Hibernation:

Since my sis’s move, I noticed that I’ve had to somewhat reinvent my time.  I had a nasty bout of bronchitis which left me pretty much annoyed and bitter.  Then came this systematic ritual called Thanksgiving.  As usual, Carl thought that it would cool to have a “simple” Thanksgiving feast to celebrate our success and our loss of the past year.  Here was the result:

A Simple Thanksgiving

Sara Smile

Yeah.  I know.  I’m blessed.  I did manage to have a great time even despite the grumblings from the kitchen.  Here’s a little excerpt of what I heard the morning prior and the day of Thanksgiving.  Enjoy this gem:

Carl – Sara, grab the big pot.

Sara reaches into the bottom cabinet and grabs the little pot.

Carl – No, no, no!  The big pot.

Sara (lazily) – This is the big pot.

Carl – No it isn’t.  It’s the one behind…way in the back. 

Sara (whining) – Where?

Carl (bending and pointing) – There?  In the back like I told you.  You see it?

Sara – Nooo…

Carl (pointing) – That one that I’m pointing to.  You see it?  Don’t tell me you don’t see it when I can see it from here…

Sara (annoyed) – I don’t see it!  I don’t see it!

A moment later, while moving the other bric-a-brac.

Sara (with pot in hand) – This one?

Carl – That one.  See?  If you’d just pay attention–

Sara (whining again) – I did!

Carl – No you didn’t.  Nevermind.  Nevermind.  Now, take out the gravy, the measuring cup, the spoon…

Sara – This one?

Carl – Yeah and start peeling the potatoes.  Ok?  They’re already boiled.

Sara begins peeling the potatoes.

Carl – You’re sitting down!  Stand up and peel the potatoes.  You don’t see chefs sitting down, y’know why?  Because you can’t peel potatoes sitting down.

Sara (still sitting defiantly) – I can.

Carl – Get out of the way!  Now, don’t forget to stir the pot with the noodles.  We don’t want ’em to burn.

Sara gets up and begins to stir the noodles.

Carl – Do you smell that?

Sara – Smell what?

Carl – The noodles are burning.  Can’t you smell that?

Sara – What do you want me to do?

Carl – Well, turn off the pot and let me see…

Sara looks over his shoulder as Carl complains about the smell of burning.

Carl – There.  Only the ones at the bottom were burning.  Couldn’t you smell that?

Sara – No.

Carl – Sara, I can’t believe you couldn’t smell that…did you season the turkey?

Sara – I just did that.

Carl – You couldn’t have just done that.  You were too busy burning the noodles.

Sara (whining again) – I wasn’t burning them.

Carl brushing past her, grabs a hold of some salt and pepper and gets to work on the turkey.

Carl – Gimme a hand will ya?

Sara – I am!

Carl – Go and get me the Sazon from the top cabinet!

It was magic watching the dance.  Because whether you can stomach the noise or not, it is hilariously entertaining watching these two stubborn people work together to make a meal fit for a Queen of the Universe like myself.  I get to gladly–three years in a row now–sit back and watch them bicker knowing fulwell that in the end, it’ll be the best meal we’ll have all year.  All told, Carlos & Sara’s Thanksgiving produced a stuffed turkey, extra stuffing, cranberry sauce, rice and beans, potato salad, macaroni salad, 4 pies and 2 cakes.

Thankfulness:

Before I met Carlos, I didn’t realize how much of myself I had been sacrificing just to be who I am.  I am grateful that I can be myself all the time: my true self.  I am grateful for every day I breathe, for the lives I’ve touched and for the lives that have touched mine.  I said a special prayer for the people who we lost this past year, and to their families.  All in all, it hasn’t been a bad year at all.  And before I start to get too sentiMental <=(and yes, that was spelled that way on purpose) I want to say, Thank You to all of you blog readers out there who have been inspiring and loyal.  I know that some of you are out there in cyberspace meandering or wasting time.  I’m glad you’re there in the shadows sending the occasional comment.  You keep me going.

See ya at the dinner table.  BYOB.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

