Knock, Knock. Who’s There? Guess. Guess who? Guess Who’s Infected? Me? Yeah. Me.

I feel like I’ve been grounded.  By my doctor.  The doctor gave me an excused absence from work for the week (even though I did work 1 miserable day).  Ick.  All I know is that I woke up on Monday with what I thought was a simple head cold.  But it didn’t get better on Tuesday or Wednesday.  So I went to the aforementioned doctor and here I am.  Bedridden like some 19th century feminist writer.  The first day I had chills & stayed in bed.  The second day, I tried to walk my dogs & felt as though I’d travelled miles…even though it was only a stroll around the block.  Foolishly, I decided to drag my butt out of bed on Wednesday & worked a full day feeling loopy & gross.  Oddly enough, I get a lot accomplished when I feel loopy & gross.
The doctor wants me in tomorrow for a full physical.  No rest there.  And today’s antibiotics made me feel even loopier, which I HATE! So ok.  I’m done complaining.  Whatever the outcome, it’ll be exactly what it will be & I will have very little control over it.  I’m letting go…

What An Angel Has Taught Me:

A very close friend of my family whom I’ve known since birth died suddenly.  It has been a shock to my system.  Angel Class was a class act. 
Angel, from what I understand, knew my father since they were kids.  They attended grade school together.  When I told my Dad that Angel passed on, my Dad described him as “my best friend” and sent a funeral arrangement.  I mostly knew Angel through my mother & her friendship with the large family–nine in all–who all contributed to our church choir.  They are an influential bunch, whose devotion helped pave the way for all of us Hispanics to succeed in the first ever Spanish mass at my church.  Personally, Angel was a talented guitarist & a beautiful person who was dedicated to performing for God in return for sparing his life from a brutal fire many moons ago.  It wasn’t so much what Angel said.  It was how Angel said it.  It wasn’t what Angel did, either.  It was how he did it.  The fundamental difference between him and the average person was his enthusiasm and zest for life.  He was small in stature, but bigger than life.  We used to ask whether there was anything he COULD’NT do! 
What I learned from Angel are too numerous to list.  But the biggest lesson was finding time.  Angel rarely excused himself from a practice or from an engagement.  He had room for anybody and everybody. 

So no more whining & bitching. Life’s too short.  We all have reason to grieve, but need to find the reasons not to.  Remove despair & depression from your vocabulary.  Choose to be happy.  It’s the simplest & the noblest & the hardest thing to do.  But it’s worth it.

I’m gonna miss you, Angel.  But you lived a BIG life.  God Bless you and thank you. 

Love, MeMa

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in and Other Good News, Angst, Mi Viejo San Juan, things that suck, Wasteland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

