Why You Will Never Be

Oh sure, I dream of you & imagine what you’d look like if you were to come into being.  But, I have a destiny to fulfill that would interrupt your stages of development which would ultimately scar you & you’d spend the remainder of your existence blaming me for.
Yes, I’ve named you.  A hundred times.  But you aren’t a pet & you are not yet flesh & blood.  Besides, you’d totally end up hating whatever name I’d given you anyway & will spend way too much on a psychiatrist to come to this conclusion. 
I’ve tested the waters, tried my hand at mothering…and failed.  Loved too much until I’d discovered that the apple really rarely falls far even if I tried to shove it uphill like some female Sisyphus…*snort*…like I could be all mythical like that.
But I do take comfort in knowing that I could extend my hand to others & offer that sage advice (whether or not those others will take it or not).  I like knowing that I can be available and free to be an individual, setting the example for other single women out there who were unable or unwilling or uninterested in becoming mommies.  These strong women are just as vital to the world & have a voice.  Do you have to be a parent to be a feminist? Absolutely not.  Is it right to have children when one cannot appropriately care or take responsibility for them?  Absolutely not.
So unless God has other plans to make me a mother through Immaculate Conception, I am resolved to live my best life as a productive & fiercely independent woman.
And you can be a gift to someone else.  Preferably, a loving Martha-Stewart-type who was born just for you.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

