I Overheard Someone Taking My Name In Vain

I’ve been dealing with a lot of high expectations and major disappointments lately.  First, I had to make the tough decision (with my husband) to euthanize my dog, Bear this past Sunday.  He had survived a startling eighteen years, but it still was–and is–hard.  Next, I joined a local Women’s Club that reminded me that high-school cliques can still exist long after you graduate.  They ended up disbanding just after three (a record for sure) short months.  Don’t ask me why some women fail to understand that there’s strength in numbers… Next, I attended a fundraiser / event a friend was running that ended up being more like amateur hour. Finally, prior to Bear’s demise, there was actually an incident where he had bitten someone.  The whole experience terrified me; but I did learn that addressing issues right away rather than attempting to avoid them, can actually be a good thing. 

Don’t get me wrong: some awesome things have happened in my life as well. I managed to finally get a couch and loveseat (in the color and style that I wanted, mind you) free of charge.  I’ve added a new member to my patchwork quilt familial relations that has been a dear with managing the apartment when I’m gone.  And I am typing on my first laptop! Yay, me!  Oh yeah, and I finally got to see Daniel Radcliffe on Broadway in How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying.  I was out with aforementioned Women’s Club members, ate at Carmine’s (my fave NYC restaurant) and really had a great time with everybody there. P.S. The performance was really, really great and I think Dan’s career is going in the right direction.  John Larroquette was excellent (as usual) and a female fellow Bayonne-resident-turned-actress was awesome as well.  

I suppose that every life needs a heapload of good with a healthy dose of bad to balance it out.  I just wish that I didn’t always have to witness it firsthand.  I mean, couldn’t I just be a quiet observer sitting in the nosebleed seats counting the blow-by-blows on a scorecard to turn in at a later time?  Do I really have to be approached by the four-eyed nerd at the dance who calls my name out in front of my friends and the whole school?  I think not.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

