Hilarity On A Stick

I’ve coined this term as an explanation for those Homer Simpson “D’oh!” moments that happen all the time in a person’s regular daily life.  They say some guy named, Murphy passed a law about these foibles and all I know is that when I catch that guy, I’m gonna inspire new and interesting phrases that will last for years to come. 
 
Picture this: me going through my laundry and finding a brand new shirt I had purchased stained beyond recognition.  Posted outside my local laundromat?  A sign that says they are not responsible for any stains.  Hilarity on a stick.
 
I grab a cup o’ Joe so I can get motivated for another stressful day.  Naturally, I am wearing a white shirt, making the situation more precarious, but hey…I live life on the edge of a knife! Hilarity on a stick.
 
But I survive the morning commute even though I walk several blocks to get to the train station and haul my butt up those steep steps like a trained ninja. My stealth knows no bounds…
 
I arrive at my destination unscathed, so I decide that I will reward myself with a small yogurt.  The container seems harmless enough so I foolishly buy it and settle down at my desk for a treat.  I pry open the aluminum lid and–to my surprise–hear the soft burp of the vacuum-seal which pelts my shirt with tiny, milky droplets of pink, strawberry-flavored yogurt.  It gets all over, of course. 
 
So fine Keepers of the Blog (who’ve kept up with the high and low points of my life) if that isn’t HILARITY ON A STICK, I don’t know what is.
 
So, send me YOUR examples of “Hilarity on a stick” moments so that we can all share in the madness of the mundane, minutae of our lives.  Sharing means caring.  It make us feel better about ourselves.  Besides, we all watch trainwrecks because it makes us realize (in a morbidly curious way) that we are not alone.  Also, because…well…we’re sickos.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

