Beware The Traveling Salesman

So last night I had a dream that was very telling…and I think it has a lot to do with my recent decision to halt reading THE MOST HORRIBLY UNREADABLE BOOK EVER. It’s not just the fact that this book is hideously unedited. That in itself is unforgivable. But it is just the most frivolous piece of fluff I have ever ventured reading. It is sophomoric, contemptuously repetitive, and a spell-check nightmare. In addition, it makes pathetic mistakes like this gem: King Arthur, Guienvere and her lover, Sir Galahad. Sir GALAHAD?! Are you serious?! I re-read that one because I couldn’t believe he got the most famous literary knight’s name wrong. For the record, its Sir Lancelot.
Grammar and Usage is an important part of novel-writing. Apparently, nobody told this guy. And I want to be clear that I am all for potential writers that are attempting to sell their most intimate works to the general public. I am a HUGE supporter of writers with one caveat: they have to be good. Not even great, just good enough to show that they have potential; that they have skill. When I began writing, I was often rightfully challenged . I hadn’t realized just how easy it was to be lazy. If the teachers undervalued the English language, then it would have been simple to overlook poor writing as a “type-o”, sloppy editing, or a careless mistake. In truth, there should never be an excuse for bad writing unless of course, you’re texting or writing in short-hand. Other than that, you’re credibility is shot.
So why did I start reading this drivel in the first place? Sales Pitch. I knew that it appeared to be a hard sell as the author spent two hours to give us his sales pitch about the underlying message behind his novel. He went on and on in such a way that by pitch’s end, we were absolutely sold on the theme behind the book. Little did I know that I would be unable to get beyond the front-flap synopsis!
Originally, this movel was intended to be part of a book club review. The trouble is that I never anticipated an unreadable novel. My goal was to read (regardless of whether I enjoyed the novel or not) a novel in its entirety. I was committed to doing this as long as the novel was a completely legitimate printed work. Once I realized it wasn’t, ALL BETS WERE OFF.
So yeah. I’ve given up. I literally “written off” this pathetic excuse for a novel.<=Pun Intended
On to the next book because life’s too short to read bad stuff. Hopefully, it’s one from the Oprah Book of the Month or the New York Times bestseller List. I’ll keep you posted…

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

