This Started Out As A Post About Sandy…

…but I soon discovered just how boring that post would be since I had more devastation over my Skin-tervention & pile of hate-notes from a jilted lover.

Of Course, Yes The Hurricane Was Horrible:
So the weather was bad and the wind howled and the rain poured…there was flooding & many lives were lost, with families left without power. 

image

image

image

The gas shortage was as bad as the news reports stated.  But as with all things, I had to see for myself and wound up seeking gas as far out as Brooklyn. Here’s a photo & a snippet of my adventure complete with long gas lines & impatient line-cutters.

image

Thank God for McDonald’s being open (accepting ATM/debit cards)…Yippee!! But there was little else; even the rental cars were all gone so we had to take free mass-transit which was being offered all the way to 42nd Street–as 33rd Street station was creepy-dark:

image

Then there were the out-of-the-ordinary army vehicles parked around reinforcing the crisis mode:

image

It took only approximately five hours to navigate the city, but it was worth it to see different vantage points of the storm’s aftermath and to recognize my own reliance on deceptively complex things as public transportation.

What’s Left Is That I’m Bereft:

image

I own my sadness and wear it like a cloak amidst worries I myself have created.   The future: uncertain.  The past: unchanged.  All I can do is remain in the present.  In my dreams I say,  “Bring me snow” and what do you know? They’re reporting a Nor’easter.

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Started Out As A Post About Sandy…

  1. CuriousOne says:

    how does carlos still have the gall to reach out to you? seriously? after all the lies and the emotional abuse he still wants to heap more on your head? sheesh.

    • Mema says:

      This is part of the malady and the growth process. I understand The Beast like Belle did. His reaction is from a place of addiction and hurt, so we ironed that part out. I don’t want to hold onto any hatred because it’s not conducive to the change I need. You can’t be hurt by someone if you allow it to happen. I was too foolish to know when to say, “When” and there has to be a lesson in that.

Leave a Reply

