Tie A Red Ribbon Round My Pinky

image

Not everyone has the means nor the capacity to handle their difficult lives. Many are downtrodden as a result of circumstances beyond their control & from bad choices they’ve made.  But God blesses us all, having mercy on all his children & helping to provide outlets in the form of other people, good luck, grace.  Whatever the issue, God is present, giving us the strength to carry on…and we do.
I have faith that God’s Will is–and always will be–realized by the resilience of the human spirit and the little  miracles that He gifts us with.

image

Since Pete’s passing,  I’ve grown restless.   It isn’t something that I can control.  It’s a mixture of despair & a need to get things done: to do, say, be everything all at once.   I found myself struggling to fill the empty void his passing left behind.  I did destructive things to numb it; I did reckless things to feed it; I did a spiritual cleanse to get rid of it.  But, I knew I had to stop the spin & through it come out on the other side to find peace.  It isn’t over, it’s always just beginning & beginning, over & over again.I had a few scrapes & scares. I’ve learned to forgive myself. 

GRACE BOUND:

image

Part of the journey has been in letting go. It sounds so easy to do, but is really,  really hard in the doing.  I started to pay attention to the messages which were ringing clear to me: God was bestowing grace.
In order to understand the message,  I had to understand its literal meaning.
1) Unmerited divine assistance for human regeneration or sanctification
2) A charming trait or characteristic
3) The quality or state of being considerate or thoughtful
4)  In Greek mythology – Three sister goddesses who are the givers of charm & beauty

The term “grace” has been presented in various forms throughout my life since Pete died. I used to think that it was a coincidence, a fluke, a glitch in the matrix… although my heart & soul quickly discredited that notion. No; it is a very real thing this idea, this virtue. I can no longer deny it. For now, I collect these instances & hoard them for myself. I may never publicly reveal them. But they will grow as apparent as a smile as the years pass.
Healing is a path. Grace accompanies me on it, passing slowly, as I leave the grief behind…like bad habits.

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tie A Red Ribbon Round My Pinky

  1. CuriousOne says:

    That photo of you and your sister nearly killed me. I felt your pain. Yes grace is what keeps us moving on a daily basis when in fact all we want to do is curl up and DISAPPEAR from the pain. Grace is the life giving essence that flows from God’s throne to our hearts. Keeps us sane in an otherwise nutty world. keep writing…use it as your outlet to remove the toxins invading your system. your faithful fan base will keep reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

