Death Becomes Me

There are a pile of dishes in the sink and the other day I changed my own light bulb.  Believe me…it’s a good thing.  Aside from realizing how inept I am at certain things, I am discovering just how awesome I really am at other things.  The experience is nothing new except for the fact that these revelations have arrived at a very tumultuous point in my life.

There are a great many truths about learning to live alone.

First, one has to conquer severe loneliness.  Unless you are a person who is totally adept at self-soothing, this can be a daunting task.  For years I’ve managed to always have a busy-bee lifestyle that involved catering to Carlos and the whirlwind that his tempestuous life demanded.  There were always people in the house and laundry lists of things he needed or appointments he had to keep.

Next, I’ve had to re-discover my interests.  This sounds so benign, but I really had to find out how to while away the hours…Dexter Marathon anybody?

image

I’m continuing my education while sparking that part of me that’s in love with info by taking some FREE Coursera courses online. I’ve submitted my work to 2 online contests and I’m still trying to get better about going to the gym (epic fail this week…my bad) for yoga.

With each new endeavour, I reveal more to myself and it’s a great feeling. For example, I have a love affair with Sleep.
image

I think it’s about that time to indulge. Good night!

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

