My Romance

.flickr-photo { }
.flickr-frame { float: left; text-align: center; margin-right: 15px; margin-bottom: 15px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Stomp 2013

Stomp 2013,
originally uploaded by Mema13.

As you know, I have been through a heck of a lot of change this past year. As the 1 year anniversary of Peter’s passing draws near, I find myself in a great place. I have come to terms with death and death has shown me that it isn’t such a bad-ass. It is a natural course that our souls take on this endless journey of life experiences. It is astounding to see both he and Carlos in my dreams…living it up. I’m glad that they’ve discovered each other and I am finally at peace with it all. That doesn’t mean I don’t get the occasional case of the weepies, but hey, I’m human and prone to weakness.
So onto the newer, more exciting points of my life: I am continuing to create and to astound myself with my versatility.

Poetry Slam 2013:

I got to see it from the sidelines this year as I entered the poetry scene too late to make the points needed to actually compete. I did manage to make a heap-load of like-minded artists who are amazingly talented and make me feel gratefully out of my element. Woo hoo! Sucking has never been so awesome!!

Life Goes On:

And of course, I am continuing to keep myself busy and find wonderful ways of romancing myself.  This keeps me in the game and reminds me why I’m still here…breathing.  What a blessing it has been!

A friend of mine asked me whether or not I had seen Stomp: the musical. I hadn’t, so they bought me a ticket and one for a guest.  Clearly, my sister was going to come even if I had to drag her kicking and screaming.  After she changed and re-changed her mind 50 million times, she caved.  We went on Sunday and had a blast!  For those who have not had the opportunity to see it, it is a wonderfully creative experience which uses utilitarian objects: brooms, pots, pans, plastic bags, etc. to make music and rhythmical sound.  Imagine banging on pots (as you did when you were a kid) and then incorporate tap-dance, clapping in a full on-stage production.  Any imaginative way of using trash is used and re-invented so that it’s a surprise to the viewer.  One segment utilizes lighters, another a set of shopping carts, still another uses giant metal drums.  They throw everything at you: including the kitchen sinks!  So if you’re ever in NYC looking for some ways to inspire your children or gift creatives like myself with a treat for the senses, you gotta go.  Just consider it a worthwhile hour and 45-minutes.  It was well worth it!

I Wrote A Song:

Yes, it’s exactly what it sounds like.  I wrote it because I’ve been messing around with the sounds on Soundcloud and that shiny red button which reads, “REC” was begging to be pushed.  So, yeah.  I wrote a song.  Now, whether or not I will ever share that bit is another story…

SO GO OUT THERE AND CREATE ALREADY!  There are so many buttons waiting to be pushed…

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Romance

  1. curious one says:

    Return back to your fans 🙂
    We miss you and hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

