What I’ve Been Up To and Why It’s None of Your Business

I’ve been having lots of experiences.  You might say I’m even “chock-full” of them.  True to form, I’m alive and kicking ass.  I recently created a bubble-wrap cap / hat which I’m sporting below.  I’ve been reading a lot (The Qur’an, Eat Pray Love), listening to audio (via Soundcloud podcasts and Audible) and singing to myself in my apartment.  I wrote songs.  I sang them. I finished some collaborative projects and am just

Bubble-Wrap Cap

now getting back into the lovely swing of life-things. 

First Things First: Online Dating Sucks

I gave this method of social interaction a really good go before I made the decision to keep with the “Me” time.  It’s just gotten too damn complex to reach human beings and males are sort of broken into two groups for me: the sharks (and not the West-Side Story hunks of old) and the creepy weirdos.  I had a scare which would blow the socks off of a regular woman had it not been this solid citizen.  It still was frightening though.  I do not want to downplay the experience at all.  Let’s just say it involved massive photocopies which were lovingly (carefully) placed on my doorstep with horrific, disgusting and vile accusations…oh, and my REAL mailing address.  Yeah.  A real keeper that one…NOT!

Similar to the plight of Drew Barrymore’s character in “He’s Just Not That Into You”, technology has discovered myriad ways of rejecting women which is nerve-wracking enough without factoring in the overzealous marriage proposals or baby-daddy offers…Um, no thanks.  It got so bad that I was seriously starting to consider becoming a nun. 

Online dating really gets you to understand the phrase, “separates the men from the boys”.  I pity the younger generations who will have to deal with such lovely potentials as the frequent nose-picker, the guy who doesn’t understand the word: NO!, and the semi-balding fifty-something who still lives with his mother.  Having to choose the lesser of all evils is becoming harder and harder as mothers extend the womb throughout adulthood and arrested development extends the years to “sow wild oats” well into retirement.  It’s just not a good scene.  I mean, maybe 1 in 10 dates will turn out good (by some kind of fluke) but consider the sea of jerks one has to endure to get to that singular one.  And let’s face it, the candidate may be professional, adorable-looking, have all his faculties until you finally reach that one bit of information that will send you running away faster than Superman from Kryptonite.

Solo Is Better

I went back to practicing silence.  Now, I barely turn on the tv or watch the news.  There just isn’t enough kind, relevant information being reported these days.  Most of it is propaganda or some sort of opportunistic talking-head jargon that makes me tired and longing for a nap.  Speaking of naps…

Yeah; I nap these days.  I nap a lot. I like it.  I’d forgotten just how special these moments are where the sandman pours a big batch of sand on your eyes until you wake up late in the evening realizing that you missed half the day…I have forgiven myself for nodding off to a program that I “really wanted to see”.  I have also forgiven myself for preferring a good night’s sleep to logging into Facebook or some other social media forum.  It just isn’t worth it to me to yackety-yak about nothing when most of it’s already been said ad-infinitum and I have absolutely nothing new to add.

I’m also getting better at listening.  So tell me your dating horror stories.  It’ll make me feel better about my own…

Good Night, Everybody!

~MeMa

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in Back To The Drawing Board and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

