Just When I Was Starting To Feel Like A Fossil

Getting together with other creatives could be a blessed curse.  On the one hand, they could make your brain blow up with ideas and hopes and dreams.  On the other hand, they can make you second-guess yourself so much that you start believing that you were never an artist to begin with. So have been the ups and downs of my artistic life.  When I had finally accomplished an artistic work, I could very rarely find a friend that wasn’t genuinely encouraging. Instead, out of spite or jealousy or some other selfish motive, they would rip my work to shreds and,even more foolishly, I believed it.
This got old. Fast.
What’s worse, I was beginning to lose faith in my abilities and my brain chimed in spreading falsehoods like, “You’re old. No one wants a relic like you to write the old fashioned way…in…books!!!!”  My resolve was fading.
But then a wonderful thing happened: validation! While browsing the internet for some blogs to follow, I stumbled upon a freelance writer blog which made my day. I keep on fighting who I truly am in an effort to either pretend I’m someone else, or be accepted by some unnamed group.
I AM A WRITER. I am not obsolete or useless or a dime-a-dozen. Those are all lies I tell myself and they have no merit. I’m valuable and interesting and yes, sometimes even funny! What’s more, if I were useless, why do I exist? Oh that’s right…cause I’m… AWESOME! How could I be so ridiculous? Why does anybody need to be reminded of their gifts?
Don’t believe me? Then believe 19th century philosopher, Heiberg in his work On the Significance of Philosophy for the Present Age: “But humanity does have its representatives, those individuals among whom the consciousness of humanity is awakened to a higher clarity, while it remains more or less asleep among the masses.  These representatives we call ‘artists’, ‘poets’, ‘teachers of religion’, and ‘philosophers’.”
We artists matter because we are the record-keepers and the conscience of history.
Isn’t that great?

image

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

