Conclusions Are Not Like Bunnies; You Don’t Hafta Jump To Them

Yesterday, my mother had to get a vaccination.  A young man behind the counter handed her an application and when I looked at it, it was in Spanish. Now, I am a proud Latina, but I found it funny that this man jumped to the conclusion that as a Spanish speaker a) my mom wanted the application in Spanish b) she read Spanish.
Now, I want to definitely concede that even I am not immune to this behavior.  I often jump to conclusions based on assumptions without really gathering all of the information available to me at the time. But I am consciously trying to notice when I’m doing this or am about to do this so I can stop myself before I act.
I’m wondering whether this is just a condition that has been developed because of the fast pace of our world. Is it really necessary to rush to judgment, quick assessments before we’ve given ourselves a chance to shape what we want to say and do?
Recently, I was listening to a podcast where the guest speaker spoke about the immediacy of reacting negatively to new information (such as an email). Now I’ve totally done this. I admit it.
So in what ways have you jumped to conclusions only to be proven wrong?

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

