When One is Lost

Can anyone really and truly be lost in this world? It’s a rhetorical question,  I know. Part of the fun used to be getting lost in a new place and then having to rely on myself to find my way out but over the years, I’d become complacent and allowed the known world to pervade the unknown one. Further,  I’ve had to face a mild form of anxiety while navigating the unfamiliar places that used to be like such fun!
How did I manage before all of this? How did I face every challenge in my life thus far with seeming ease? Well, I have to be honest with myself: I didn’t.  I was more adventurous for a time, but as the years went by, I found myself gravitating to a world I already knew. I don’t think I was ready to really face the reality that comfort and convenience are two of my favorite things.  That’s not to say that this is a bad thing, or an unhealthy thing. I don’t believe that. I know that certain ways of life don’t apply to everyone and that if certain avenues of my life were supposed to “be”, they would’ve been.
Silly Rabbit, Why Panick?
I ventured outside of my comfort zone and found myself in SoHo. Now, some may say “Big Deal”, “So what?”–but for me, this part of NYC I haven’t exactly conquered yet. The “downtown” part of NYC (where all the “cool” kids go) is known for its eclectic,  artsy, bohemian, hep-cat, laid-back, Hipster vibe. I love that. But as a youngster who was introduced to the mid-town experience by both circumstance and necessity (I used to work off of 53rd St and 6th), I knew that another NYC existed…but I was too frightened to explore it.
Disclaimer: Again, I own these feelings and do not think (as some folks do) that one MUST conquer every obstacle. I don’t think that that’s realistic because it is a personal response to growth and comes to everyone in its own time and at its own pace. It’s kinda like learning to swim by being forced into the deep end of the pool or finally deciding for yourself that a) you don’t wanna learn b) I can do it, but I gotta do it slowly. Contrary to popular belief, I believe that either choice is completely fine and depends on WHO YOU ARE. You’ll know when it’s right or whether it’s not for you at all.
So there I was trying to complete a task of retrieving my recently purchased (and expensive) cell phone.  I had no other choice than to go back and get it which pissed me off brought me to the unwanted challenge of having to get there by myself and back home…on a week day…during rush hour. Ugh! So again,  fate had planned it and the writing was LITERALLY on the billboards:

image

Conquer Your Heart Out

No prob.

Anyhow,  I want to stress how the gods were trying to tell me something…not only did I have no choice but to go, but after retrieving my cell phone (did I mention it was brand-spanky-new?) but then it died as I was navigating back…and da-da-DAH! NO CHARGER!!!! (Homer Simpson says, “D’oh!” and Stewey Griffin says, “Blast!”)
So I got lost. As much as anyone can get lost in a sea of smartphones and helpful people and navigation maps. So…not really THAT lost, but panick did set in and I almost cried…almost.
I’m So Jersey It Hurts:
When I decided not to play victim and to listen to my gut instinct, I only lost about an hour and a half (which is pretty good when you’re downtown in this post 9-11 world). Dont ask me what train I took, don’t ask me to recreate that again for your entertainment, k? But I realized something that I had almost forgotten about myself: I’m extraordinary. Oh, and smart. I’m really smart.
So I figured I’d impart this bit of wisdom (?) to my loyal readers and will now share some pretty cool pics of what I would’ve missed if I had never gone. Thankfully,  that didn’t happen:

image

image

image

image

image

Greatest City in the World…
Many happy travels…and I hope you all get a little lost…^_^

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

