Breaking the Internet Without Kim Kardashian

I’ve been enjoying my time offline…or, at least a version of what I think is “offline” (but not really ’cause I still check my Facebook status about a bazillion times a day).  Let’s just say that while I admit that I’m addicted, I am getting more and more comfortable with being unplugged for minutes at a time–which is at least something.  Yeah, can you believe it?  MINUTES!!

But even with that, I couldn’t escape the Meme monster that is Kim Kardashian.  I mean, this post has already mentioned her like twice already, but I refrain saying her name another time because I’m superstitious and hey, I watched Beetlejuice the movie so y’know something totally bad would happen if I did…so…nah.

So what have I been up to?  Well, a lot actually.  Just nothing really in the raise-your-hand-’cause-I-wish-to-share-every-little-detail kind of stuff.  I’ve been contemplating autumn leaves  for example.  I’ve taken up reading again (albeit slooooooowly) and still am taking obsessive notes on everything I see and hear and think.  That’s been interesting.  But even with all of this, I’ve come to realize just how lucky I really am.

What I will share with you is that I’ve been interviewing my mom which is both insightful and hilarious.  If anyone knows my mom, they know she’s just adorable.  I mean the woman has this chipmunk face and can match the strangest colors in a wardrobe that would put Audrey Hepburn to shame!  Recently, she even shared some old photo albums with me that were eye-opening.  If it weren’t for my mom dressing me, for example, I probably would’ve been made fun of all throughout high school only because my mom’s taste in clothes surpasses anything I could come up with.  Does anyone remember me in the 80s wearing different color shoes on my left and right feet?  Yep. Totally my doing.
image

image

It was interesting to listen to my mom’s point-of-view for the first time.  Events that were so significant to me fell off of my mom’s radar and some that seemed benign were really telling.  I was able to hear her side of the story and to record them for posterity but also I realized that they were all just stories and histories which were flawed and skewed.  That’s the trouble with memory…it isn’t as precise as one would hope.  Even if it were, it still is and always will be a moment in time.  It isn’t always consistent and it isn’t always easy to pin down or define.  That’s because we are human beings. We are forever in flux.  We are infinite, ever changing.

What I once thought was the coolest thing in the universe falls away and becomes a fad or a temporary obsession.  But, what doesn’t change is the root interest in mystery, wonder, magic, fantasy, love and love and love.  That’s our truest nature.  Compassionate, free, loving, honest, kind, peaceful.  My sister sums it up best (as she is always wont to do) when she says that there are only two natural states: Peace & Joy.  Enveloped in the preceding list above are all aspects of these natural states of being.

But I’ve also discovered that it involves more living in the present moment which is stolen from us every time we select a link that brings us to some cool article about something we’ll forget over time.  The real staying power behind every great thought is the ability to break from those chains (digital or otherwise) and take the time to absorb what is readily available all around us.

The fact is that the internet is already broken.  It is a mosaic of people’s thoughts, ideas, innovations, efforts, trials, concepts, experiences.  But it isn’t the same had these not been enjoyed first.  How can you do that?  Well, stop watching/reading/commenting.  Just live.  There’s plenty of time to sort out the details later and to assess and encapsulate the moments.  Well, actually, there’s not enough time but don’t worry about taking a selfie or a video.  Some things just can’t be described.

Not even Kim’s butt…whoops!

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<html ERROR!>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Haha…just kidding…

Until next time, folks!

About Lisa Perez

Lisa M. Perez is a published poet, editor, copywriter, public speaker and artist. The co-creator of the first ever ArtSpace in Jersey City, member of IUOMA (International Union of Mail Artists), and administrator for an online Mail Art group, Lisa supports the arts and advocates for creativity. Her successful, Art Journal and "Notes from my Brain" series are ongoing projects that evolve with the artist. In addition to being an active blogger since 2005, Lisa scripts and edits copy for various online articles and videos. In September 2017, she was a guest-speaker and virtually chaired a YOGA Recovery meeting. In her spare time, Lisa studies, reads, and creates while maintaining a day job in a STEM field and being a full-time fur-mommy to her shih-tzu, Cher.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

