A Walk in the Park

What happiness looks like.

What happiness looks like.

These days, I am perfecting the plateau stage of my life. At least, that’s what it appears to be but I have no way of confirming this or of carefully analyzing such notions as there really is no method that I know that would or could measure this personal truth, but whatever…that’s not the real point anyways so stop asking so many questions, Brain.  Turns out that the Art of Being Happy is not as easy as it sounds.  It involves a lot of routine, establishing a system of rules that work for your lifestyle and then, *gasp* actually sticking to them.

There’s an immense level of commitment that goes into a Daily Grind and it almost always (for me) involves the imbibing of some caffeinated morning brew (aka Cup O’ Joe, Café Ole, or Jersey Cawfee) to act as the catalyst to the rest of the day.  Routine is all about maintaining and adhering to a continuous established order. It isn’t intended to be like a Groundhog’s Day where a person relive the prior day’s events over and over and over again…but what it does do is allow a person the opportunity to immerse themselves in the activity of being present in the moments.  Woah.  Sounds far out there right?  Um, I thought so too until I realized that living is only valuable and completely engaging when I let the natural order of things happen.   It doesn’t mean that I don’t occasionally yawn on the bus or ‘zone out’ when someone is talking over my head about something that a) I have no interest in. b) don’t want to do. c) is so new that it needs to sync in. d) I really really have no interest in doing.  But it does mean that I now have the responsibility of telling the truth.  That means that if I don’t want to do something, I actually admit to myself: hey, Lisa, you really don’t wanna do this.  Then, I have to admit this to others: Folks, I really really don’t wanna do this. Sorry.

ImpressionU 1ImpressionU 2So what else am I up to?  Well, my art is expanding and I’m experimenting with rubber stamps now.  So far, I’ve created a few but am still trying to get the hang of it trying different types: linotype, rubber, wood…whatever.  The goal is to see what ultimately works for me.  But I encourage anyone who’s interested in memorializing personal symbols, inside jokes, people, places and things to give it a try. I promise that it isn’t as hard as it looks.

I also finished hosting my first ever Halloween Mail Art notecard swap and found that to be a lot of fun (despite my initial anxiety).  Also, my Art Journal project has finally gotten off the ground and I have now successfully distributed three 4″x6″ mini notebooks (with 11 works each) to other Mail Art folks in a closed network.  I am going to try to expand it to the world-at-large, but that will be part of a bigger project that I don’t want to start until my obligatory Art Journals are all completed and out the door!

I just finished Art Journal #4 and have to get it out by today so…

What are you guys working on?  How are you doing with your own personal struggles and rebirth and reinventions?

Can’t wait to hear about them…

~MeMa

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

