The Beat Goes On

Recently, while riding the bus, a song came on the driver’s mini-radio. It was Bob Dylan’s “A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall”. 

Feeling particularly sad that down from a set of circumstances beyond my control, the song matched my mood.  I found myself nodding in assent and mouthed the lyrics to myself so as not to disturb my fellow travellers. 

The next song began to play: a blue-collar Bible anthem called, “The Man Comes Around” by Johnny Cash. How could you mistake that evangelical voice under a canvas tent inviting you to his rock and roll revival? Again, I nodded and hummed with familiarity, relating to the lyrics.

Then, the Beatles classic, “Across the Universe” began playing and I just couldn’t help myself. I began to sing, “Nothings gonna change my world…” Surprisingly, other passengers began to tap their toes and joined in. It was one of those spontaneous moments that are marvelous and all too infrequent for my taste. 

When we were done, Dylan began again, “The Times Are A-Changin'” and this lyrical poet’s words once again inspired spontaneous musicality as people hummed and sang along. It was one of those mysteries of life that illustrates how music brings people together. 

Reaching the final stop, I heard a man’s voice from behind me call out sheepishly, “Excuse me, Miss? Was that you singing?” I answered, “Yes.” He complimented me and then began to praise the music. “That music was so so uplifting…” There was an excited exchange. 

Suddenly, the man says, “I should totally thank the driver. I mean, he lifted my spirits completely and I want to thank him for that. I was feeling mighty low.” With that, the man goes up to pay his fare when he begins to thank the driver going on and on about how refreshing his experience was and how he totally appreciated the songs and wondered where the driver got the playlist from?

The driver looked up in bewilderment and replied, “¿Que?” It was obvious that he had no idea what he was playing.

Moral: What is meaningful to you is already available and in abundance. But the personal messages that you interpret will only be for you. Either you notice it in the present moment, or you miss it. But there is no loss in this. There is only what you yourself can handle at the time. There will come a time where you will be open to all that life brings. And when it happens, don’t forget to tell the universe, THANK YOU.

About Mema

I've been at this blogging thing since 2005, but I don't consider myself a veteran AT ALL. My posts are mostly well-meaning, fun anecdotes with the occasional random thought and a dash of humor for good measure. So sit back, relax, and stay awhile. And if you decide to browse elsewhere, just remember...you're missing out on an opportunity to meet (arguably) THE GREATEST PERSON THAT EVER LIVED. Overstated? Well, why not stick around to find out? Your call, tough guy. Or, gal. Or, martian.
This entry was posted in I'm A Sucker For Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

